Workplace Collaboration

The Not-So-Secret Sauce to Better Business Outcomes

Hey there! 👋

As I usually review myself every quarterly, now that we’re at the mid quarter of this year, I have been thinking quite a bit of the way I work, and I wanted to share my approach of working.

I’ve always advocated for collaboration in my work, constantly reaching out to other teams to find out if they have something they want to achieve as well. I have been very fortunate to have gotten some great results coming from these collaborations.

WHY COLLABORATE?
Think about the time where Supreme and Louis Vuitton had one of the biggest collaborations in the past decade.

Image from The Cut

Go Further
Their collaboration opened up an entire market of luxury streetwear where it was sold out worldwide. (Here’s a little known fact for you: Supreme was actually sued before by Louis Vuitton for this—a long time before the collaboration happened)

In the same way, collaborating at work not only allows you find ways to solve different problems, but you would also be able reach much further than you could have alone.

Solving the problem together helps bring teams together
If you haven’t worked with the other team before, solving something together can actually help you understand how to work with each other. Not only can learn from each other, but also learn together.

Unique perspectives
Just like how I’m sharing my thoughts with you, collaborations help bring a unique perspective to the table. The power of diversity in cultures, ideas and even ages can unpack even the most complicated problems as you work towards a common goal.

Understanding the value of collaboration, here’s what you can do.

If you’re in a senior position:

  • Build collaborative teams

  • Lead by example

  • Develop a collective impact across teams—a goal everyone can work towards

  • Acknowledge unconscious biases and develop a way to overcome them

If you’re in a junior position:

  • Reach out for an open discussion

  • Understand their goals and help them solve their problems

  • Listen-well and communicate effectively

  • Review the projects you’ve worked on together

Seniors would already know how to effectively reach out to people in the upper management to understand their goals and help them solve problems. If you’re new to this, start by learning how to reach out. Reaching out is always the first step. Don’t forget, when Steve Jobs cold-called Hewlett-Packard's co-founder to request some spare electronic parts, he got what he asked for — and a job.

MENTOR’S THOUGHTS
I’m an introvert by nature, so talking to people tires me out. However, I do understand the value of collaboration and that there are colleagues looking to reach their goals as well. Collaboration helps me help them reach their goal, and at the same time, the company’s goal.

As mentioned above, reviewing myself at every quarter helps me track my goals, understand my weakness, set actionable insights to get better at certain things, or even just perhaps taking the time to learn more. I have actually discussed about this in my podcast episode here so hopefully it can help you work towards your goals too!

I’d also love to hear your thoughts on this topic. What have I missed? What is your experience of this? Let me know!

Best Regards,
Carlsson Chee

SHARING IS CARING
If you've found this useful, it's likely that someone in your network, such as a friend, colleague, or acquaintance, could benefit from this as well. Add value to your network just by sharing it with one person in your network who might need it.